Back

Mary C. Not a subscriber

Discover Mary C.'s profile, house-sitter from Exeter (England, United Kingdom)

Mary C.

Trust Profile 8

  • Email address checked
  • Other ID
  • Other proof of domicile
  • Bank details checked

Stay offer

Exeter, England, United Kingdom

Stay ended

Not a subscriber

  1. 4
  2. 2

Main competencies

ID

My age:
66 years
My occupation:
social worker
My town:
Exeter, England, United Kingdom

Travel companion(s)

  • Christopher, 66 years, Accountant (retired), Spouse / Partner

Languages spoken

  • English

Favorite destinations

  • Belgium
  • Switzerland
  • Germany
  • Spain
  • Europe
  • France
  • United Kingdom
  • Italy

Favourite pets and animals

  • Cats
  • Dogs

Other

  • I know how to take care of a garden

Community opinion

  1. 4
  2. 2

Endorsements

By Mark M., on 04/07/2019
A very comfy, long-term stay in a quiet neighborhood of north Exeter. Chris and Mary have a history of providing a guest room, or accommodating a house sitter, so you can expect an experienced, organized, and thorough host. They communicated frequently while away and introduced me to friends who helped make my stay even more interesting.

The 3-story home is on a quiet street with a bus stop less than 100 meters away. Exeter, as well as the county of Devon, has an excellent, dependable bus system that also connects to the major train station of St David's. Via bus or train you can reliably visit most of the southern coastal towns, Plymouth, Bristol, and Bath. Renting a car locally is advised for visiting the beautiful rural areas of Dartmoor and Exmoor. I had an excellent experience with British car rental agent Easirent whose office is easily accessible via bus.

Their cat, Alfie, is an independent little guy who needs no special care but you'll want to be sure to schedule lap time, ear-scratching, and time answering his slapping the cat flap to open the door when he just doesn't feel like squeezing through the cat flap.

It was a comfortable, long term stay due in large part to Chris and Mary's experience. If you have an opportunity, I highly recommend. Thanks!
By AGNES B., on 09/20/2018
Mary and Chris are very nice persons. We felt at home in their house and Alfie the cat is very cute and easygoing. The house is ideally situated in a very calm area and the center of Exeter is only 20 minutes walk. A bus stop is very close to the house and taxis are not very expensive. There is also a very pleasant garden with huge trees and a lot of birds.
Mary et Chris sont tous les deux charmants. Nous nous sommes senties à l'aise dans leur maison et Alfie le chat est adorable et facile à vivre. La maison est très bien située dans un quartier très calme au-dessus de la ville et le centre d'Exeter n'est qu'à 20 minutes de marche. Un bus passe devant la maison et le soir les taxis ne sont pas très onéreux. Le jardin est également très agréable et semi sauvage avec de grands arbres peuplés d'oiseaux de toutes sortes.
By Mary N., on 06/14/2018
This is the second time we have done a house sit for Mary and Chris. They are extremely warm and welcoming people and we consider them as friends. They greeted us again with a lovely meal and wine. The house is very spacious and comfortable and Alfie the cat is an absolute delight. He is very loving and friendly. He loves to sit on your lap in the morning and purr away. We highly recommended this house sit! They would also make great house sitters as they are respectful and conscientious people. We hope to have the opportunity to sit for them in the future.
By Mary N., on 11/08/2017
It was a pleasure to house sit for Mary and Chris and care for their beautiful cat, Alphie. We arrived the day before they left and shared a lovely, home cooked meal. Mary and Chris went over everything regarding the house and Alphie's care giving us a good sense of their expectations. They were warm and welcoming and even provided us with some parting gifts!

We look forward to house sitting for them again in May.