No longer available for this period

Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Host: Hortense M.
Published February 06, 2019

General description

  • Main home
We live in a nice 2 bedrooms apartment in SW Calgary, Canada. It is the upstairs unit in a house in a residential area, meaning that we have a neighbor living in the basement (with his dog). Both are really nice and quiet. There is a small garden backyard, but will probably be covered in snow most of the year :)
Our neighbor has a BBQ there that you could use if it's sunny and warm enough. There's also a private garage for your use only, accessible through the backyard.
Public transportation are accessible by walk (400m for buses / 800m for Ctrain at the Chinook center).

Needs and Animals

  • My pets
  • 2 dogs
We have 2 small dogs to look after: Napoleon and Josephine. They are really friendly, they like to go for a walk ideally 2/3 times a day, but as they are shih tzus, they are easily tired so when they are at home they mostly sleep on their bed or on the carpet, and love to be cuddled. They are not allowed on the couch alone (even if I suspect they do as they want when we are not here!).

Napoleon is not neutered which is not really an issue except when encountering big dogs while walking... just say 'no' and he will follow. Josephine is just the cutest! She loves to lick so be careful if you mind, that's her way of saying she likes you! They need to be combed/brushed every 2-3days.

We also ask our sitters to water the small plants inside (only a few in winter), check our mail and send us pictures of our dogs as we will miss them.... (if we are living for more than a few days) and that's pretty much about it!

Practical life

  • Metropolis
  • 50 - 150 m² (530 - 1590 sq. ft.)
  • 20 - 200 m² (210 - 2110 sq. ft.)
  • Metro/tram station
  • Bus stop
  • Airport
  • Market
  • Small shop / Minimarket
  • Supermarket
  • Shopping mall
  • Doctor
  • Pharmacy
  • Hospital
  • Veterinarian
  • Internet
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Deep freeze
  • Enclosed garden
  • Ground floor
  • No disabled access
We have several shops next to our house (supermarket, coffee shops and a big mall...). We will recommend a few :)
The airport is a short drive up north (20min). We have public transportation nearby. That being said, Calgary is a big city and if you want to enjoy the Rocky Mountains we do recommend renting a car at the airport maybe. You will be able to park it in our garage.

Comfort and Luxury

  • One floor
  • 5 rooms of which 2 bedrooms
  • Contemporary
  • Car parking available
  • Television / DVD library
  • Book library
  • Fitted kitchen
We don't have a lot of books as we moved from Portugal not long ago, but we do have several city guides and Lonely Planets to share, and cooking books if you want to try some new recipes! Our kitchen is fully furnished so you should find whatever you need (mixer, blender, oven...).
We do not own a TV, but we have a videoprojector and WiFi of course, so feel free to log into your netflix, or you can borrow dvds from our local library (that's what we usually do). We also have a Wii U connected to the videoprojector.
We just had a baby, so we should have everything you could need if you are planning on coming with a baby or kids (bunk beds in the second bedroom). But feel free to ask about anything we could lend you during your stay :)

Tourism and Leisure

  • Mountain
  • City
  • Museum
  • Zoo
  • Cinema
  • Theater / Opera
There's a lot to do in Calgary, especially the Rockies that are a short drive away (around 1h). Napoleon & Josephine are good with hiking a bit. If it's still snowy they do have some shoes/coats to put on though. Also they can easily stay alone a whole day if you plan on going somewhere without them, just please don't do it everyday as they need their cuddle time :)
We have city guide and maps if needed.

Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Calgary, AB, Canada


From Saturday 2019

To Sunday 2019

firm dates

We would like you to come at least one day earlier (we will host you of course) so we can give instructions and present you to our neighbor if possible. Dates are firm as we bought our plane tickets during Easter/Spring break (my husband is a teacher). We are going to France to present our baby to our family there.

Home-sits over



Hortense M.

Registered since 20/09/2016

Response rate:

Share it with your friends