Back
Listing closed for this period

Blainville, Quebec, Canada

Host: Anne T.
Published January 14, 2020

General description

  • Main home
Cozy and comfortable, located on a golf. The large backyard and golf course are separated by a wooded area for privacy. We have a cedar out-of-ground pool which is heated. The yard is home to many little critters: birds, squirrels, rabbits, raccoons, chipmunks and the occasional fox.
We live in a safe and quiet neighbourhood with lots of amenities around (grocery store, pharmacy, hair and nail salon, the mall is a 5-min drive away) and the country is anywhere between a 20-min drive to a one-hour drive, depending on where you want to go. If you want to go to the city, it's only a 30-min drive but with construction and traffic, make it an hour!
We moved here 9 years ago after living in Bermuda and the USA for about 10 years, and I absolutely love it.
There are 2 large bedrooms on the second floor with a very large bathroom and mezzanine/office. The main floor consists of 2 living rooms (one has a fireplace), large kitchen, dining room and washroom. The basement is entirely finished with laundry room, large workshop, large living area/guest room and shower bathroom.
Our pets are everything! Unfortunately, our eldest cat Bella died on January 3rd, 2020... but our westie Scotty (13 yrs), long-haired chihuahua Jessie (9 yrs) and hunter cat Kaia (10 yrs) still bring much love into our home. Kaia also likes to bring whatever is left of her hunting trophies... we apologize for that!
My next door neighbour is also my very close friend and all our "croissant" neighbours are friendly.
This area is mostly French-speaking but most people are somewhat bilingual.

Needs and Animals

  • My pets
  • 2 dogs
  • A cat
As I mentioned before, we have a westie and a chihuahua. Our westie is a loving, patient, kind and laid-back grandpa. He has always been the sweetest dog. Everyone absolutely loves him! Cats, dogs, kids, adults... they all love him. He's sort of our mascot.
Jessie was adopted from the street almost 4 years ago and she's a work in progress. She's very sweet with us but she's also territorial and doesn't care for kids. Let's just say she has a very large "personal space bubble". She has never bitten anyone and even if she tried to do so now... she only has 3 front teeth left so she can't do much damage, if any. She loves to eat and cuddle (she will love you if you share your food with her!!). And she follows her big brother around whenever they're outside.
I would expect any house-sitter to be respectful of my home and belongings. I expect to find my home the way I left it (i.e. clean and tidy and in excellent condition). I'm a neat freak!
And most of all, I expect anyone to give my pets the best care! Anything short of that would be unacceptable. They are all aging and are used to a very comfortable and loving way of life. That is why I no longer want to leave them with a dog-sitter somewhere else. And of course, anyone with some knowledge as to how to care and handle pets would really be an asset.

Practical life

  • Village
  • 150 - 500 m² (1590 - 5290 sq. ft.)
  • 20 - 200 m² (210 - 2110 sq. ft.)
  • Bus stop
  • Supermarket
  • Shopping mall
  • Doctor
  • Pharmacy
  • Veterinarian
  • Internet
  • Television
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Ground floor
  • No disabled access
It is very quiet and when you sit in the backyard during summer, it feels like you're on vacation. When I lounge in the pool, I only hear the faint sound of a golf ball being hit, that's it. Our friends love to come over for a barbecue. Having breakfast out on the terrace or sitting in our big suspended rocking chair while I watch the birds and my pets running around the yard is by far my favourite moment. Our home is cozy and inviting. It is made for friends to enjoy as well.

Comfort and Luxury

  • 2 floors
  • 10 rooms of which 2 bedrooms
  • Traditional
  • Car parking available
  • Landscaped garden
  • Television / DVD library
  • Art and music
  • Air conditioning
  • Swimming pool
  • Sports equipment
We are movie lovers so... there are lots of DVDs to choose from! We also have a Wii play station (for both kids and adults), a barbecue, a treadmill and elliptical machine in the basement, along with yoga mats and weights

Tourism and Leisure

  • Countryside
  • City
  • Museum
  • Theme park
  • Zoo
  • Cinema
The perfect balance between country and city. Just a hop away from downtown so you can enjoy the buzz of city life when you want to, and quiet enough to come home to relax. Want more countryside? Just a short drive away to water slides (and ski slopes), natural parks, etc.

Blainville, Quebec, Canada

Blainville, QC, Canada

Available

From Saturday 2020

To Saturday 2020

flexible dates

This is just a ballpark date. Still working on our plans for the summer, but it should be around then.

Host

1

Anne T.

Registered since 13/01/2020

Response rate:

Share it with your friends