Back

Ojochal, Provincia de Puntarenas, Costa Rica

Host: Dawn R.
Published April 09, 2021

General description

  • Main home
Our home is situated at the end of the "road" in the Southern Zone and in the rain forest of Costa Rica. It is EXTREMELY quiet (except for the occasional Toucans and the Howler Monkeys) and secluded, is excellent for bird watching from the second floor balcony, and has lots of great hiking opportunities.

We are located about 10 min. from the village of Ojochal and 15 min. from beautiful, expansive beaches. There are lots of day trip excursions in the surrounding area; zip-lining, sport fishing, diving, surfing, wildlife reserves, etc. There is also a myriad of volunteer opportunities available within the Southern Zone should you wish to get involved with the community.

Our home does have WiFi but no cable TV (or any type of TV channels), however we have over 2000 DVDs of movies and TV seasons that are on-hand. We are an American couple who built our home to American standards and have all of the modern "luxuries" even though we live off-grid. DO NOTE: the living area is located on the second level of our house. We DO NOT have railings on the balcony so if you are afraid of heights, this is not the home for you.

Transportation is not included; we are 7 km. from the nearest bus stop, so a 4 wheel drive rental vehicle is required.

This time of the year is when the small rains start. Living on the side of a mountain is cooler than along the beach, daytime temps will be around 80-90 degrees.

We do require a COUPLE due to the fact that we are in a secluded area and, for our peace of mind, we ask that two people be present.

Needs and Animals

  • My pets
  • A dog
  • 4 cats
Sami (Perisan) and Snoopy (Ragdoll) are fairly low maintenance for long haired cats - they require food, litter box cleaning and brushing. We adopted two domestic short hair kittens about 2 years ago and they have finally calmed down and pretty much keep to themselves.

Hobie Juan Kenobi Cat, our dog (true breed is unknown but most likely a bichon or poodle mix ~ he does not shed!) is also a rescue and about 2 years old. He still is pretty active and loves to go for walks and play. He roams free outside so you do not need to monitor him. He is pretty happy-go-lucky but does at times have separation anxiety. He will travel in the car for short trips (1-1 1/2 hours).

Since we do live off-grid, the hybrid hydro/solar system needs daily monitoring but maintenance is quite minimal. Being between summer and the start of the rainy season, it might be necessary to water the plants a couple of times of week. A gardener comes once a week to clean up around the exterior.

We also have a cleaning lady come in on Fridays.

Practical life

  • Isolated
  • 50 - 150 m² (530 - 1590 sq. ft.)
  • More than 1000 m² (1060 sq. ft.)
  • Market
  • Doctor
  • Pharmacy
  • Internet
  • Television
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Ground floor
  • No disabled access
As mentioned above, it is very secluded and quiet. Since we have a hydro generator, you will hear the water falling softly from the generator. At night crickets and frogs are prevalent. During the day you may hear howler monkeys, toucans, and various other birds. We do have small wildlife mammals around but the dog keeps them at bay.

Note: we do not have doors or screens on the doorways to the balcony but we have curtains we close at night. It is rare to see a mosquito but we do have occasional insects in the house - mostly flying).

As I previously mentioned, we do not have railings on our balcony so this NOT the environment for children.

Comfort and Luxury

  • 2 floors
  • 4 rooms of which 2 bedrooms
  • Traditional
  • Terrace / Balcony
  • Car parking available
  • Veranda
We do have bikes that can be ridden in the local area. We also have an extensive collection of DVDs and CDs. Our Wi-Fi is strong enough to view Netflix.

Tourism and Leisure

  • Sea
  • Mountain
  • Countryside
  • Forest
  • Beach
Our area is a tourist paradise! As mentioned above, if you are a nature lover, this is the place for you! There are numerous beaches, all with their own special charisma, within 40 minutes of our home. Our area is famous for surfing, whale and dolphin watching, hiking, and waterfalls. A horse back riding tour is only 10 minutes away. Zip lining is 30 minutes away. Kayak rental is also available.

Ojochal, Provincia de Puntarenas, Costa Rica

Provincia de Puntarenas, Ojochal, Costa Rica

Available

From Monday 2021

To Saturday 2021

flexible dates

Our objective is to take a driving tour of the US west coast and visit relatives along the way. Our dates are somewhat flexible (but we need to be in the US no later than July 2) and will work with you as much as we can.

The return date is also somewhat flexible by a week or so.

Host

6

Dawn R.

Registered since 09/04/2021

Response rate:

Share it with your friends

Contact owner

Only members of Nomador Community can contact owners.
Registering is free of charges and allows you to create a Trust Profile before starting a discussion.

I register Discover our Options
Already have a Nomador account?

Request a new password on the \"Forgot password\" page.

Forgot password