Back
Listing closed for this period

Cahors, Occitanie, France

Host: Sophie S.
Published January 06, 2021

General description

LONG HOUSE-SIT available (flexible dates)

Our traditional home sits on woodland with plenty wildlife around. Picturesque rural countryside and very tranquil surroundings. The property comprises of the main house and few outdoor buildings.

The QUERCY is a rich historic and cultural region in the southwestern French department of LOT. It combines beautiful sceneries, architectural sites and is well known gastronomic delights.
Although our village is nicely tucked away, we are within easy reach to major cities and train stations.

We are looking for a dependable and considerate person(s) with a minimum of practical abilities willing to commit to the routine in place.

Breaks available for long sit if required (previous sitters took little time away to holiday or visit family) . Able to accommodate various situation therefore do not hesitate to let me know if you have any specific requests.

My lovely bunch of pets include my dog Gavin, Nino the donkey Locky the sheep and 5 cats ranging from 8 years to 15 years old with the exception of our oldest cat Lulu who is 19. All of them are used to be looked after by other persons than me and are rather easy going. They love human contact and being pampered.
My dog Gavin can't be left alone in the house more than 5 hours, has to be supervised when outside & loves his daily walk.
Looking after a donkey and a sheep doesn't require any specific experience. They are fairly relaxed, rustic animals that need feeding twice a day & taken out to their paddock. They spend the night in their stable.

I manage house, garden and pets on my own therefore the position is perfectly suitable for a single person. Speaking French is not essential as most my local friends speak English or Spanish and can be of help if needed (sorry, I cannot accommodate families or persons with own pets).

Minding my home includes caring for my pets but also keep up with the general maintenance found in any other homes.
I have a weekly helping hand to care for the cleaning of the house.

An easy routine is in place which has helped previous sitters settle in without any worries. If closely followed, it will help make sure everything runs smoothly just like if I was there myself.
Local friends and family are ready to provide help and support so my sitters are never left alone dealing with an unexpected situation. My vet happens to be a friend and I am also only a short flight away if necessary.

This is country life at its best so enjoying rural life is a must.
It will not suit someone who enjoys sleeping in and not really willing to follow the routine in place. It is important for the well-being of my pets and the sake of my home that anyone interested in this house-sit feels this is something they can fully commit to.

Considering Covid & future uncertainties, know that if I had to make my way back home, I have in place a Plan B to limit any disruption my return could trigger. Slightly distanced away from my farmhouse I have an independent 3-bedroom house. During the (first) locked down period, I offered my sitters the choice to remain there. They continued to be great help and participated to the upkeep of the place whenever needed and also covered the routine with the pets if I was not able to. The house is very comfortable & fully equipped (including WIFI).

Needs and Animals

  • My pets
  • A dog
  • 5 cats
  • A horse
  • Farm animals
Before applying, please read the following:

*Must hold EU Passports or Visas allowing a stay in France for the time frame
*Clean driving licences
*Happy to adapt to commonplace tasks & chores (housekeeping & outdoor maintenance)
*Be tidy with a sense of practical & logical approach to things in general (willing to use basic garden equipment).
*Have a positive approach to life in the country and be easy going.
*It s nice to be kept in touch with photos and news
*Be kind, patient and lovable to the pets. Creatures of habit therefore observing their schedules is the key thing to ensure their happiness. Taking them to the vet and administering medication if necessary.
*Gavin roam around the garden for short period of time, can’t be left outside, needs to be on a leash for his walk.
* The sitter agrees not to leave the house all day or overnight.
*I help our local birds by providing ongoing source of peanuts and sunflower seeds in most helpful times such as during cold weather and early spring.

Practical life

  • Village
  • 150 - 500 m² (1590 - 5290 sq. ft.)
  • More than 1000 m² (1060 sq. ft.)
  • Market
  • Small shop / Minimarket
  • Supermarket
  • Doctor
  • Pharmacy
  • Hospital
  • Internet
  • Television
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Deep freeze
  • Ground floor
  • No disabled access
As for the details of the accommodation offered, my house has central heating, fire places, a spacious kitchen, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, living area and a small utility room. There is a car available, bikes, Fibre, tv, books/DVD library. The pool is usually opened by June and closed around September.
Minding my home include not just the care of my pets but also the general cleaning and gardening maintenance found in any other home. I have weekly helping hand to work along with the sitter for the care of the house.
My home is a renovated farmhouse located on the outskirt of a quaint village in the Quercy region SW. Many villages nearby with all convenience stores, markets etc.. 20mn drive from the beautiful Lot River, the listed village St Cirq Lapopie & the pretty town of Cahors.
This is country life at its best so enjoying rural life is a must. It might not suit someone who likes to sleep in.
If this house-sitting position interest you and you’d like more in depth information, I’ll be happy to answer any questions you may have.

Comfort and Luxury

  • One floor
  • One room of which one bedroom
  • Traditional
  • Landscaped garden
  • Fitted kitchen
My home is a renovated farmhouse located on the outskirt of a quaint village in the Quercy region France SW. Many off road tracks including St Jacques de Compostelle route.
Closest neighbours around 200 m and the heart of the village is one km away.
Many villages nearby with all convenience stores, markets etc... The main village is called Lalbenque (7km) and the town of Cahors is a 20 mn drive. The listed village of St Cirq Lapopie by the river Lot is 15 km away.

The house has central heating, openfire/upmost efficient wood burning stove in the kitchen (Polyflam) to provide extra comfort as the room is the one mostly used by humans & pets!

There is a fully equipped kitchen, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, living area and a small utility room. There is a car available if the sitter do not posess one (insurance provided for the sitter(s), High speed Internet (Fibre), TV, books/DVD library.
The pool is usually opened by June and closed around September.
Bikes available.

Tourism and Leisure

  • Countryside
The Lot region has a rich history, listed villages and is a gastronomic destination.
Located just south of the Dordogne area and one hour north of Toulouse.
Fast train (TGV) from Montauban, the largest town near us located 40mn away.
Local train station (Lalbenque/Fontanes) and main train station is in Cahors.
No other public transport is available.

Cahors, Occitanie, France

46000 Cahors, France

Available

From Monday 2021

To Tuesday 2021

flexible dates

Dates and Lenght of the housesit is very flexible.

Host

4

Sophie S.

Subscriber

Registered since 22/01/2019

Response rate:

Share it with your friends