Back

Vier-Bordes, Occitanie, France

Host: Rachel
Published January 07, 2022

Listing closed for this period

General description

  • Main home
Our house is a small cottage in a beautiful, isolated mountain village in the Hautes Pyrenees Mountain Range.
There are some pretty walks right from the door, and some spectacular mountain hikes a short car journey away.
The house is heated by a log burner, and the bathroom is chilly in the winter months! It's a cute, compact house with a nice garden where you can chill in a hammock.
Nearby Argeles Gazost is a cute town where you can go to restaurants or a bar, and Lourdes is about 25 minutes away, which is very famous for the Lourdes Cathedral which many Catholics visit on pilgrimage.
Several ski resorts are close by.

Needs and Animals

  • My pets
  • A dog
The only reason we want a house sitter is to keep Pirate company. He is a large dog, probably a mixture of a Rottweiler and a Labrador. He was abandoned by a road, and we adopted him this year, when he was already 8. Despite a rocky past, Pirate is very calm and level-headed. He is gentle and rarely barks, preferring to lie around on the sofa all day.
We like him to go for two short walks a day (around 30 mins each), as he has arthritis and longer walks can be painful.
He occasionally bounces with curiosity on the lead if another dog approaches too fast, but we have an elastic lead so you don't jar your shoulder. He is 35 kilos, so this is helpful!
We would want you to be gentle and calm with him, avoiding shouting and giving him lots of reassurance if he is stressed that we aren't there.
Watering a few house plants would also be helpful, and we would hope to come back to the house in the same state we left it in.

Practical life

  • Isolated
  • Less than 50 m² (530 sq. ft.)
  • 20 - 200 m² (210 - 2110 sq. ft.)
  • Railway station
  • Airport
  • Market
  • Supermarket
  • Pharmacy
  • Veterinarian
  • Internet
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Enclosed garden
  • Ground floor
  • No disabled access
You will want to be able to drive if you stay here. If you don't have a car we could explore the possibility of insuring you on ours. Our home backs onto a field where cows, donkeys, and horses sometimes graze. The local villagers are warm and polite, but unlikely to invite you to a party, it's a quiet place! We can tell you what cultural activities like games nights are going on when you're here and introduce you to some friends if you would like to socialize.

Comfort and Luxury

  • 2 floors
  • 5 rooms of which one bedroom
  • Traditional
We have some outdoor gear like snow shows you can borrow if you want to go out in the mountains.
We have a shower, but not a bath (to my great dismay).
You should know that the stairs are narrow and steep, which could be a problem for someone with limited mobility.

Tourism and Leisure

  • Mountain
  • Countryside
  • Forest
  • Zoo
So much hiking to be had! Also skiing, outdoor hot springs, local baths, kayaking etc. It's a very outdoorsy place, with some wonderful nature. We are one of the only regions in France that has bears living wild.

Vier-Bordes, Occitanie, France

65400 Vier-Bordes, France

Available

From Sunday 2022

To Sunday 2022

firm dates

I may have to go to England for work on these dates. If it gets suddenly canceled because of COVID, you would be welcome to stay anyway.
My husband will be staying at the house, but out working all day. As Pirate was abandoned, we are not comfortable leaving him alone for such a long time every day.
So we would like you to stay at our home Monday to Friday until about 6pm. (It could be suitable for a digital nomad). Just taking him out for a couple of short walks. In the evenings you can go out alone or my husband can take you out if you want to meet our friends. At the weekend, of course, you can go skiing or do anything else you'd like to do. If you would like to stay for longer to explore the area, you could stay an extra week even when I'm there, and just use our house as a base.
You could choose to sleep in our bedroom or in the office on a comfortable inflatable mattress. Florian will take whichever option you don't prefer. Please do ask any questions, and I'll be happy to answer them.

Host

1

Rachel

Registered since 06/01/2022

Share it with your friends