Back
Listing closed for this period

Penkun, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Germany

Host: Alexandra H.
Published June 28, 2020

General description

  • Main home
Hello there,

we are a family of five, living out in the sticks in a renovated old farmhouse from the early 1920s.
We live a simple life close to nature, our goal is to become (almost) self-sufficient minifarmers, we keep chickens (mainly for nostalgic reasons and eggs) and are growing vegetables.

We also have Lara, our dog (11 years old, border-collie-german-sheperd-mix) and our cats, Cleopatra and Odin.
Lara is a very friendly dog, she gets along with everybody.

We take responsibility for the world around us, so whatever we buy, we try to go for organic and fair trade products.

We have been doing workaway as hosts for over 11 years now.
For being happy here as a housesitter, you have to like being outdoors, being on the country side, gardening, and living in a very remote area.
We provide a caravan for our volunteers and housesitters as well as a separate bathroom in one of our stables.
If you like a simple lifestyle, this will be the place for you.

The next town with 2000 inhabitants is 4 km away, there’s a drinks store, a tiny grocery store, a pharmacy, a flower shop, a bakery and a restaurant. That’s all :-P
On the other hand side, it is very peaceful here, you can see the stars and the milkyway and it is super silent at night. Only when ot`s harvesting season, the tractors on the fileds around make some noise ;-)

Needs and Animals

  • My property
  • Animals with specific needs
  • Many plants
  • Big garden
  • Vegetable patch
  • A dog
  • 2 cats
  • Farm animals
We have one dog, 2 cats (not living inside the house) and some chickens.
The dog needs to be fed in the morning, and to be walked twice a day.
The cats need to be fed once a day, the chickens the same. The hen house needs to be cleaned around once a week.
The lawn needs to be cut once a week, too, and as we have a quite big property this needs around 1,5 hours.
The vegetable patch and the greenhouse needs to be watered in the evening, and the veggie patch needs to be weeded from time to time.

Practical life

  • Isolated
  • 50 - 150 m² (530 - 1590 sq. ft.)
  • More than 1000 m² (1060 sq. ft.)
  • Railway station
  • Small shop / Minimarket
  • Doctor
  • Pharmacy
  • Veterinarian
  • Internet
  • Television
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Deep freeze
  • Enclosed garden
  • Ground floor
  • No disabled access
The country side is relaxing, a haven of peace. We have a camp fire place outside, it`s great for barbecuing.
We also have a sauna on the yard, with a wood stove, but for summertime this is not so interesting ;-)
It`s a minimarket in the village nearby, 4 km from our place, and a supermarket around 7 km away.
The train station is 7 km from here.
As we have 3 kids here (7,4,2, years lod) we have a lot of equipement to make kids happy: a big trampoline, a sand box, a swing and so on.

Comfort and Luxury

  • One floor
  • 6 rooms of which 3 bedrooms
  • Regional
  • Landscaped garden
  • Book library
  • Sauna / Jacuzzi
We have several bikes you can use, as well as a good amount of various books. Most books are in german, some in english and norwegian.
There are several lakes nearby sor swimming.

Tourism and Leisure

  • Countryside
Poland is close by (30 km to Stettin)

Penkun, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Germany

17328 Penkun, Germany

Available

From Monday 2021

To Thursday 2021

firm dates

Our dates are not yet firm- they are a bit negotiable, 1-2 days back or forth. As our oldest kid will is at schook already, we have to stick to school holidays, unfortunately.
We would like the house sitters to come at least 5 days earlier than the day before we leave, so we can give instructions, get to know one another and enjoy time together!

Host

3

Alexandra H.

Registered since 28/06/2019

Response rate:

Share it with your friends