Back

Amlapura, Bali, Indonesia

Host: Daphne D.
Published January 18, 2022

Listing closed for this period

General description

  • Main home
I am looking for an adventurous couple (or 1 person) with a big love for animals and ready for  change in their lives. They must not be easily scared, tough enough to handle an earthquake, soft enough to talk to my pets like they were little humans :).
Besides that, if you, or one of you is handy fixing things, that is a big plus!
Because in this time span something might break and need fixing (like leaking tap/pipe or such) Also it would be good if you know how to ride a scooter or at least are willing to learn this, since we have no other transport around here.

I live here for 13+ years. I have 1 Bali dog, and 4 cats (+ a few wild ones), a house and garden to look after.

I am going  out of the country because I will. Be deported for refusing to 'negotiate' with immigration.

I will be blacklisted for 6 months.

My house is very basic, 3 bedrooms (guest room, my room and animal room, outside bathroom with cold water shower and western toilet and a better bathroom with hot water tied to my bedroom., amazing outdoor kitchen with all you need to cook, indoor living room and small garden,
Guest room has 2 pers. bed and a fan. If you want to use my room with aircon, that's ok also, you will be more comfortable there.

I have to ask for about IDR 700.000 a month to cover electricity and Internet. If aircon is used a lot, it might be higher, but this is what I pay average) I live on a very tight budget, that's why I have to ask for money for the electricity and Internet on your arrival . I will be paying of course for food stock for the animals.
I will also pay for the weekly cleaner and a guy who will come once every 2 weeks to trim the garden. (both are named Wayan)

Needs and Animals

  • My pets
  • A dog
  • 4 cats
  • Fish
  • Farm animals
My white dog, Putih, can not go free outside during the daytime.
She is allowed to walk free at night, but better wait with that until she is used to you. She does not obey, she will come along if she wants to, but also might have other plans :) She does have doggy friends also. She is also attached to a rope when home in the beginning when I leave, because she might escape. Soon as she is used to you, she can go off the rope inside the house.. She acts like a bully when walking outside on the lead but she is actually very sweet!
She is a rescue dog and had a tough start in life.

Then there are the cats,  at the moment 4 of them.But it might be 3 when you arrive.
I will introduce them to you when you arrive here.
They pretty much live their lives by themselves, they will come  for some cuddling :) I cook fish and rice for them, as for the dog also, twice a week.
There is always dry food and fresh water available for my animals. The bowls are kept full, fresh water every day.

Don't be surprised by the daily visits of my rooster "stelts", He's a rescue and comes every day to get some dogfood. He's tame enough to eat seeds from your hand and loves his cuddles.

Besides that, other tasks are keeping the house clean and water the garden, feed the fish and keep the pond and garden clean.
Normally I takes me around  two hours a day to walk the dog and keep the house and garden up to date. I have to sweep or vacuum and mop the floor, clean the kitchen (which is outside) and garden every day.
The other rooms and garage (falling apart) you can clean as you like, as long as I get everything back in the same state I left the house.
Of course all is done with love and respect.

Practical life

  • Village
  • 50 - 150 m² (530 - 1590 sq. ft.)
  • 20 - 200 m² (210 - 2110 sq. ft.)
  • Market
  • Small shop / Minimarket
  • Supermarket
  • Doctor
  • Hospital
  • Veterinarian
  • Internet
  • Washing machine
  • Enclosed garden
  • Ground floor
  • No disabled access
I've been riding the covid19 wave here and it has been very relaxed with no worries at all .
Due to covid, some restaurants and shops are closed.
Opposite of my house there are few local shops where you can buy all basics. At 1.5 km is the first ATM, western and local supermarkets.
I live in a fisherman village in Amed area, at the feet of the holy mount Agung, Bali. Here is THE diving spot of Bali. We still have breath taking reefs that makes this the perfect snorkelling spot and in the top 5 of worlds best diving spots.But since my beach is very local, for snorkeling I advice to go 1 bay back or forth.

The real Bali is still here. My house is near the beach, but it's not quiet since I live with the local people, you will be in midst of local life. They can be loud sometimes, especially when there are ceremonies.
The Balinese children are a joy to watch, every day around sunset you will find them (and me) on the beach. Their smiles are a true source of energy!

The local people here like to chat with you and will ask you many questions out of curiosity. They are extremely friendly, and smile a lot. You will be invited to their homes for coffee ,food or drink arak.

We have NO crime at all here in my village!
I have unlimited WIFI.

Rainy season the beach has periods of many plastics, I organise cleanups with a few people on regular basis, but it can get overwhelming sometimes. Most locals don't seem to care about the plastic ending up on the beach and in the ocean.
I'm just trying to let you know, it's not all paradise here!

Google "Bali Amed" and you'll find lots of info about this place on earth there.

I have an amazing group of friends that will help with any advice.
I always make an whatsapp group for communication. We have a Facebook group where you can post any questions about Amed. Lots of expats know the answer for sure!

We have no public transportation around here.
You really need to ride motorbike (the best transport for discovering the Amed area) or rent bicycle to get around!
I have 2 old motorbikes that you can use. They have no papers nor insurance and can only be used around Amed (from cullik to saraya, a stretch of about 30 km)
If you want to go sightseeing further, you need to rent a good motorbike, for about 40k a day or 600k a month.

Comfort and Luxury

  • One floor
  • One room of which 2 bedrooms
  • Contemporary
  • Landscaped garden
  • Book library
  • Air conditioning
  • Fitted kitchen
There are books and Internet

Tourism and Leisure

  • Sea
  • Beach
There are lots of "instagram" photo opportunities around, great daytours reachable by motorbike. You can't use the housebikes to do this, since they are old, not reliable enough and out of papers.
Few spots nearby to google:
Tirta gangga waterpalace
Maha gangga Valley
Lahangan Sweet
Lempuyang Temple complex
Ujung water palace
Rumah Pohon

Of course we have amazing dive and snorkel spots around, coral reefs and shipwrecks.

Google "Bali Amed" and you'll find lots of info about this place on earth there.

I still love discovering the area by motorbike, it's always an adventure, especially if you love to shoot photo's.
The Balinese love to pose for this.

Amlapura, Bali, Indonesia

Amlapura, Karangasem, Karangasem Regency, Bali, Indonesia

Available

From Monday 2022

To Sunday 2022

flexible dates

I will be deported from Bali soon, including a 6 months blacklisting, but could be longer.

Home-sits over

Host

3

Daphne D.

Registered since 10/11/2015

Response rate:

Share it with your friends