Back
Listing closed for this period

Nardò, Apulia, Italy

Host: Maria C.
Published August 05, 2017

General description

  • Main home
Lovely home with huge private walled garden in Nardò's old city center.... Centrally located next to an ancient monastery, sunny and bright, lots of room for relaxing outside in the garden or on one of the rooftop terraces....

Needs and Animals

  • My pets
  • Big garden
  • A dog
We are seeking experienced and mature dog sitters/house sitters who will focus on our four-legged family member and keep our house and garden in pristine condition. Our house is not suitable for children.

Your main task will be taking care of Winston. He gets one long walk a day (1-2 hours long) and several other short ones (bathroom breaks, etc.). We have a lot of big wilderness reserves nearby where he can frolic with you, and you both will be able to take long walks on the beach. He likes to play. You'll need to cook his food. His diet is quite simple-- mostly just hard-boiled eggs, cooked grains, chopped veggies and a vitamin supplement. He gets fed twice a day. Aside from this, you'll take care of the garden, which is not too much work, as many of the plants are watered automatically.

If you do not bring your own car, you will need to be able to drive a large car with manual transmission (stick).

We will definitely have limited internet access (via a mobile router with a limited number of gigabytes) and we hope to have unlimited regular internet access. We will just have moved into the house so it will depend on how quickly we can get the modem set up. There is also usually free internet available in the main square and at lots of cafes nearby.

We also prefer that the housesitter has previously owned a dog and has had experience with a larger dog. The nearest emergency vet clinic is a 35 minute drive away so we need to be reassured that you can handle a large dog.

We need to go back to the U.S. for a few weeks in October 2017, and so we're looking for someone to spend time with our Old English Sheepdog, Winston. He's a 9-year-old sweetheart. He was born deaf, but he gets along just fine without hearing. He's actually quite relaxed because of being deaf. He's the center of our lives, so we're looking for someone who is passionate about dogs and willing to spoil him.

Our house borders an ancient monastery and is situated in the historic center of our town, so you can reach everything in town on foot. We have a huge, very private garden that is completely walled in as well as several sunny rooftop terraces. There is a washing machine, dishwasher and huge refrigerator for you to use. The house gets a lot of light. Our town is quite lively, and we're a 10-15 minute drive away from a lot of gorgeous beaches and wilderness reserves. The beaches range from long sandy beaches to rocky cliffs and sandstone coves, so you'll never get bored with the terrain. The area is absolutely gorgeous, the townspeople are friendly, and the food is amazing. In short, it's paradise.
Here are some great pictures of Winston and our region: https://www.instagram.com/tailsandtravel/

Please write us only if you will have your own car or if you have an international license and can drive a car with manual transmission (stick). Our insurance will let us put an extra driver on the insurance policy. Unfortunately, trains and taxis are not an option in this region.

We will have just moved into the house (we're in the process of buying it now), and we will have only lived in it for a couple of weeks, so we want the house sitter(s) to be particularly careful, respectful, and keep everything looking perfect. :)

You'll need to be with Winston all of the time. As the house will be new to him, he'll still be getting used to it, which means that he won't be able to be left alone there yet. Fortunately, most places around here (businesses/restaurants/bars/etc.) allow dogs, so you'll be able to take him with you almost everywhere.

We'd like you to come a few days in advance to get used to Winston and the house, and to give us a chance to get to know you a bit better.

You don't need a car to get around town- everything here in town is within walking distance, but you do need a car to get to the beach and the wilderness areas, and these are the places that Winston gets his big walk once a day.

We'd prefer someone mature and with experience looking after dogs. A couple (gay/straight/etc.) would be fine. Experience with looking after a garden is also preferred.

**We will only accept a house sitter with references. We recommend that you have some sort of medical insurance for yourself, and it's a major plus if you have liability insurance.

**If you are interested in taking care of Winston for us but don't have time during these dates we mentioned, please get in touch, as we're always looking for folks who have availability at other times (perhaps in mid-December and during Christmas or for Easter, for example).

Practical life

  • City
  • 50 - 150 m² (530 - 1590 sq. ft.)
  • 20 - 200 m² (210 - 2110 sq. ft.)
  • Bus stop
  • Railway station
  • Market
  • Small shop / Minimarket
  • Supermarket
  • Doctor
  • Pharmacy
  • Veterinarian
  • Internet
  • Television
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Deep freeze
  • Enclosed garden
  • Ground floor
  • Disabled access
It's a lovely place to live. Nardò is a baroque city about a ten-minute drive from a wide array of gorgeous beaches, forests and protected nature areas.

Comfort and Luxury

  • One floor
  • 4 rooms of which one bedroom
  • Contemporary
  • Terrace / Balcony
  • Landscaped garden
  • Veranda
  • Book library
  • Art and music
  • Air conditioning
  • Fitted kitchen
Washing machine, dishwasher, full kitchen, stereo, TV.
We'll leave a couple of guitars for you to play...

Tourism and Leisure

  • City
  • Beach
  • Cinema
  • Theater / Opera
Please come and experience the Salento area. You won't want to leave.

Nardò, Apulia, Italy

Nardò, Province of Lecce, Italy

Available

From Thursday 2017

To Monday 2017

firm dates

*If we find the right house sitters, you are welcome to stay a few extra days after we return in order to explore the area on your own. We have an extra guest apartment where you can stay for a brief period after we return.

Host

5

Maria C.

Registered since 02/03/2016

Response rate:

Share it with your friends