Back

Bagnolo Piemonte, Piedmont, Italy

Host: Alan L.
Published November 23, 2021

General description

  • Main home
We moved into this beautiful old stone house at the top of the lane in late 2020 and are still slowly working on it, although now it's fully functional, with only smaller cosmetic things to do. In the foothills of the Cottian Alps with the plains of Piemonte below and the mountains behind, this is an excellent place to explore these hills.
We have a horse, dog and cat who need looking after when we are away, all are fairly straightforward but we much prefer to have someone stay and look after them than have an animal carer pass by. We hope that this place will provide peaceful sanctuary for those who stay.
The house has everything you need (if you're okay with country living!). The beds are comfy. Heating is by wood stove and pellet stove, the cooker runs on gas, as does the hot water and there's as much as you need available. The delicious drinking water is totally pure and fresh from the mountain. We even have an original wood fired bread/pizza oven for the experienced fire builder! We also have a piano, guitars and various other instruments for the musically inclined.
The local neighbours are very friendly and helpful (nearest neighbour about 500m away).
Nearest village Is Bagnolo Piemonte, about 4km (10 minutes drive) which has pretty much everything you might need, the village of Barge is 15 mins away and the bigger towns of Saluzzo and Pinerolo are about 25 minutes away. We are in between Torino and Cuneo, both cities about an hour away.
Although it doesn't give the option to select Italian as a spoken language on this site, we both speak reasonable Italian (and it's improving all the time!) so would also welcome house-sitters from Italy who didn't speak English, in case that was a worry for anyone.

Needs and Animals

  • My pets
  • Animals with specific needs
  • A dog
  • A cat
  • A horse
We have three pets -
Stanley the cat is straightforward and has a catflap so can let himself in and out, just needs feeding twice a day. We have a litter tray but he prefers outside so no cleaning necessary.
Mister Marsali the dog is a very easy going medium size cross-breed. He barks at passers-by but is otherwise harmless and very sweet. We've had him since he was tiny. He needs a good walk every day, plus we give a quick walk around the field when we get up in the morning and before going to bed, but the land is fenced so he can be free to be let out to do his business. He gets fed twice a day too. He gets very distracted by the scent of other animals so we ask that he is always walked on a lead when out of our property.
Stella the horse is also fed twice a day, and her food is prepared and soaked the meal before. Unless it is really rainy she gets moved into the field from her stall after breakfast and back for teatime. Her stall needs cleaning once a day and water topping up. She likes to be brushed. Some experience with horses is necessary, although we do have a neighbour (Italian speaking only) who knows Stella well and can help at any time, or even call around if there are any issues.

Other than that, we'd just like the house sitter to keep the house safe and in a good state, and enjoy their time here!

Practical life

  • Isolated
  • 150 - 500 m² (1590 - 5290 sq. ft.)
  • More than 1000 m² (1060 sq. ft.)
  • Bus stop
  • Market
  • Small shop / Minimarket
  • Supermarket
  • Doctor
  • Pharmacy
  • Veterinarian
  • Internet
  • Television
  • Washing machine
  • Enclosed garden
  • Ground floor
  • No disabled access
The area is beautiful and there are plenty of walks straight from the house. The house is surrounded by greenery which makes it an oasis of peace but you can soon be in the village with bars, restaurants and shops. By car you can soon reach the mountains for hiking and the views are incredible. It's a comfortable house that's easy to live in, can be chilly in winter when the fires not going, so we recommend visitors bring plenty of warm clothes. There are plenty of warm covers and blankets available.

Comfort and Luxury

  • 2 floors
  • 6 rooms of which 2 bedrooms
  • Traditional
  • Terrace / Balcony
  • Car parking available
  • Landscaped garden
  • Television / DVD library
  • Book library
  • Art and music
One of us is a musician so there is a lovely old Bechstein upright piano that is available for visitors, plus numerous guitars and other instruments. Also we have various books to read, mainly in English and a TV with Netflix for a film or two in the evening. There are 2 outdoor stone tables for eating al fresco if it's warm enough, plus a traditional wood fired bread / pizza oven (although this might need instruction before use!)

If we are going away by aeroplane then we might be able to offer the use of our car while we're away if the house-sitter is okay driving us to the airport (and the sitter is a safe experienced driver ;-)

Tourism and Leisure

  • Mountain
  • Countryside
  • Forest
  • Cinema
Our house is in an area in a lesser known part of the Alps that separate Italy from France, which we really like as it's very authentic. Almost everyone we know are local Italians, or Piemontese as they are known from this area! The famous Stone King mountain, Monviso is nearby alongside so many stunning mountains, and there are countless trails all around, both down on the plain and in the hills. You can also find many walks straight from our front door.
Also we are only 25 minutes drive from the nearest ski slopes (the tiny resort of Rucas) for those who like to ski. The nearby village of Barge is a charming stone clad place with winding alleys and the nearest town Saluzzo is beautiful and full of it's Savoy royal family history as well as having some great places to visit, drink and eat. On the plain is the distinctive Rocca di Cavour which is interesting to visit and has a lovely village next to it.
There are weekly markets in every village - Bagnolo's is Wednesday morning but there are others every day. If you want the city, Cuneo is beautiful and Torino (Turin) is considered by many the modern cultural capital of Italy.

Bagnolo Piemonte, Piedmont, Italy

12031 Bagnolo Piemonte, Province of Cuneo, Italy

Available

From Sunday 2021

To Tuesday 2021

firm dates

We go away on the 13th but would need the house sitter there for at least one day before to go through the feeding routine and introduce them to the house etc. We return on the 20th but we put the 21st just in case there was any issues.

Host

3

Alan L.

Registered since 07/11/2021

Response rate:

Share it with your friends

Contact owner

Only members of Nomador Community can contact owners.
Registering is free of charges and allows you to create a Trust Profile before starting a discussion.

I register Discover our Options
Already have a Nomador account?

Request a new password on the \"Forgot password\" page.

Forgot password