Back

Muscat, Muscat Governorate, Oman

Host: Gota2021
Published February 23, 2020

General description

Photograph submitted to validation

  • Main home
Whilst we have welcomed so many people into our home from across the world over the years, we thought Nomador would be a great solution to not having to worry about our boy Boo when we do have to travel without him. Boo was born in UK, and has been with us since he was 8 weeks old. We brought him over to Sri Lanka ( at the bouncy age of 3), when we moved back home after our 10 year stint in London, but as we are now on assignment in beautiful Muscat, he has done another international trip, so he's a well travelled chap indeed! Mahesh and I have always enjoyed travelling, from rural countryside walks in Tuscany to the busy beaches of the French Riviera, and Boo himself has many stories to share - from ferry rides to the Isle of Wight to steam train travel in Somerset! We seem to always opt for the off the beaten path, but do prefer the modern clean comforts such as the gorgeous riad's of Marrakesh. Being both animal lovers and avid foodies we are always on the lookout for new adventure, so when Muscat was placed on our cards we dove in, and have since added a small human to our little pack ( our daughter Anadya, who is now Boo's bestie) and more recently yet another four legged member who we rescued off the streets of Muscat called Ellie!

Needs and Animals

  • My pets
  • 2 dogs
We are looking for a pet sitter ( preferably a retired/ travelling couple) to ensure the 'furrier members' of the family are loved, cuddled & really well looked after, while we are away. Boola, our 5 year old Labrador retriever ( who is also our fur child/son!) has now climatised to the local hot weather, but was used to much less, having been born and bred in UK! Boo will need to be fed ( Royal canine kibble mixed in with a little rice and beef - all which will be provided) twice a day, in the morning ( (8.00 am) and in the night ( 8.00 pm). He has ' desert' after his meals in the form of a dentastick in the morning and a bone at night. You will be provided with enough stock to last the duration of your stay. He is allowed around 4-5 small treats from his goodie jar during the day ( more often when you are leaving the house/entering the house). Boo's playtime is very early during the hot summer months as it reaches 40 C as soon as the sun rises, so ideally from 5.30 - 6.00 am. He gets only 1 walk a day. Please be aware that he is currently nursing an injury on his paw so we have cut back on his exercise quite drastically. He's an indoor dog ( so sleeps and relaxes inside - in air conditioning right throughout the day & night) and has been socialised and house trained. He will sleep in your bedroom on the floor by your bed, as he does with us. He loves his Nina Ottoson toy & kong toys which are in his cupboard and can be taken out any time he nudges you for some play! Ellie's routine is slightly different. She is a street rescue, so still has lots to learn! She's still in the process of adapting to humans and a home environment, so she lives both indoors and outdoors. She is taken indoors into her crate from 11.30 - 6.00 as it is too hot for her to be outside. She still tends to have accidents ( when she gets excited) & although docile, still isn't totally comfortable with kids ( we think she may have been abused while on the street by neighbourhood kids sadly). She joins Boo for the morning walk. She is fed twice a day as well at the same time Boo is fed. In terms the house itself, you will not be required to do any work at all, but we would be grateful if you could keep it in the condition in which we leave it for you. As mentioned above, our maid will continue to live on the premises ( in a separate annex attached to the kitchen) and will attend to daily sweeping and mopping of the house and will manage independent of you, giving you your space and privacy at all times. You will have access to the entire property including a well equipped kitchen so will need to manage your own meals.

Practical life

  • City
  • 150 - 500 m² (1590 - 5290 sq. ft.)
  • 20 - 200 m² (210 - 2110 sq. ft.)
  • Small shop / Minimarket
  • Doctor
  • Pharmacy
  • Internet
  • Television
  • Washing machine
  • Deep freeze
  • Enclosed garden
  • Ground floor
  • No disabled access
To quote an article on Forbes: " Laid-back and slow in the tumultuous Arab world sounds like an oxymoron, but in Oman’s case, it happens to be true, due to its history on the crossroads of the sea-trading world, pioneering culture brought in different influences from around the world. Oman packs a lot in a small package, with desert, rugged coast and beaches, water sports and diving, forts-every-few-miles, green valleys, old school bazaars and old school Arabian hospitality. This often-ignored country in the shadows of towering Abu Dhabi and Dubai is something special. While its neighbours throb with the pulse of the future, Oman comfortably hums along in its mix of tradition-steeped past and optimistic present. That relaxed energy is especially evident in Muscat, a city of 1.5 million that remains low-slung and charming : everything must be in traditional whitewashed style and nestled comfortably into the craggy mountains". We live in a spacious villa with a garden in a quiet suburb on the borders of Gubrah & Azaiba. You will have private use of an airconditioned bedroom and shower room on the ground floor of the property. Fresh linen including towels and bedlinen will be made available for your stay. As we have a live-in maid ( she occupies an annex adjacent to the main property within the compound & will always respect your privacy & comfort) you will not be required to do any cleaning or chores as she will take care of all this on a daily basis. We would prefer non smokers. Being able to hire a rental car for the duration of your stay is an ESSENTIAL factor for this sit, for the beach is too far to walk to. It will take 5-7 minutes by car to the beach where dogs are allowed ( being an Arab country most homes do not have dogs unlike in UK & Europe but people are friendly & tolerant so please exercise caution and respect). The nearby sand park where the Boo and Ellie are taken on the days they don't go to the beach is close, but across a really busy intersection which the dogs don't cross over. Whilst there is a small shop ( SPAR) within walking distance ( less than 3 minutes) of our home, the bigger supermarkets and malls for your groceries and shopping are a 5-10 minute drive and everything is available here from cheese to chocolate. Lots of nice restaurants and take aways which we are happy to show you when you settle in, as part of the ' city tour' during familiarisation. Happy to meet and greet at you at the airport when you land as well, as we are only a 15 minute drive from there.

Comfort and Luxury

  • 2 floors
  • 3 rooms of which one bedroom
  • Contemporary
  • Car parking available
  • Landscaped garden
  • Air conditioning
  • Fitted kitchen
Its a traditional Villa in Muscat, close to everything and the beach. We have Netflix and other sports channels.

Tourism and Leisure

  • Mountain
  • City
  • Beach
  • Museum
  • Cinema
  • Theater / Opera
Oman is an undiscovered gem, there are lots of places to explore. You need a rental car as theirs no public transport.

Muscat, Muscat Governorate, Oman

Muscat, Oman

Available

From Wednesday 2020

To Saturday 2020

firm dates

Host

1

Gota2021

Registered since 27/05/2019

Response rate:

Share it with your friends

Contact owner

Only members of Nomador Community can contact owners.
Registering is free of charges and allows you to create a Trust Profile before starting a discussion.

I register Discover our Options
Already have a Nomador account?

Request a new password on the "Forgot password" page.

Forgot password