Back
Listing closed for this period

2000-345, Santarém, Portugal

Host: Laura M.
Published May 05, 2017

General description

  • Main home
We are Laura & Miguel :)
We have been married for 5 years and we are 40 and 36 respectively.
We have 4 dogs (Oli, Kat, Leia and Bilbo) and one cat (Rob). They are family to us.
We love hiking, sci-fi, having dinner with our friends, and enjoying a good movie. Miguel is a university law teacher and lawyer, and I am a manager in the travel industry.

We live near Santarem , in a countryside house 8Km from the city.
Please note we only answer personalized messages - if you are interested in staying with us, please take time to read our profile and send us a personalized message.

45 minutes from Lisbon.
1h from Nazare and Peniche

Needs and Animals

  • My pets
  • Animals with specific needs
  • Many plants
  • Big garden
  • Vegetable patch
  • 4 dogs
  • A cat
Hi there!
We are Laura & Miguel and we have four dogs and a cat. All of them roam freely inside the property and our houses. A short description of them:

Rob, the cat, has access to the outdoors as well, where he wanders and hunts, but sleeps and eats at home, where he gets his cuddles and love from us. He has no special needs, except making sure he comes back home, has water, food and a good belly rub! He is used to sleeping with us.

The dogs (who also sleep with us) are Oli, Kat, Leia & Bilbo.

Oli is the elder of the tribe, he is around 11 years old and he is not aware he is a dog. He is, in his mind, a person. This means he gets all the perks, except eating with cutlery. :) He has Addison's syndrome and takes pills (Astonin) everyday. He has very special needs: absolutely no stress (not even getting a hair cut or nails cut is allowed by the vet) and always sleeps with us, if need be under the sheets. If you find this odd then maybe this is not the house for you. His medication has to be precise and cannot be missed at all.

Kat, short for Katniss, is a 6 year old sweet calm princess with lots of curiosity about the world and lots of patience. She is very calm, but a little shy and very loving. She has Leishmaniose but has done her medication and she is clinically healthy. She loves (and demands!) her morning and nightly cuddles.

Leia is a 3 year old princess, who joined us some summers ago. She loves chewing things (all things!!), taking naps, and running around. She needs constant attention, she is very scaredy and it takes a looong time and dedication to get her trust.

Bilbo is our newest baby: he literally showed up at our doorstep, lost. He is 10 months old, 23K and growing (he will be around 25K when is is fully adult) and he has a LOT of energy. He is very smart and very docile.

All of them were abandoned or lost and we adopted them from an animal shelter. They are part of the family.

Practical life

  • Isolated
  • 150 - 500 m² (1590 - 5290 sq. ft.)
  • More than 1000 m² (1060 sq. ft.)
  • Market
  • Small shop / Minimarket
  • Pharmacy
  • Hospital
  • Veterinarian
  • Internet
  • Television
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Deep freeze
  • Enclosed garden
  • No elevator
  • First floor
  • No disabled access
Our house is located outside a small village, so it is isolated. You wake up with the birds singing, and the view of the mountain range of D'Aires and Candeeiros. This is pure countryside. We shop for food in the closest village (8Km away) but for smaller things (bread, milk) we have a small mini-market. You can get really fresh produce at roadside stands as well or at the bi-monthly market in town.

Santarém is a 10min car ride away, with many restaurants, cafes, cinema, shops and even a mall.

We have a cleaning lady who comes every weekday and can clean and cook.

Our plants and trees are maintained by gardeners who come twice a month. We do some watering every other day.

We have two houses in the property, one is our home and the other one is for guests and friends. In our home we have 2 bedrooms, bathrooms, and office, plus living area with fireplace and kitchen.

Comfort and Luxury

  • One floor
  • 5 rooms of which 3 bedrooms
  • Traditional
  • Terrace / Balcony
  • Car parking available
  • Landscaped garden
  • Television / DVD library
  • Book library
  • Fitted kitchen
  • Swimming pool
Outdoors swimming pool
Cleaning lady every week day who cooks and cleans.

Tourism and Leisure

  • Mountain
  • Countryside
  • Beach
  • Cinema
SANTARÉM
Contemplating the staggering views from Santarém’s Portas do Sol atop the old town walls, it’s easy to understand why Roman, Visigoth, Moorish and Portuguese armies all wanted to claim this strategic stronghold above the Rio Tejo. Dom Afonso Henriques’ storming of these heights in 1147 marked a turning point in the Reconquista and quickly became the stuff of Portuguese national legend.

The River Tagus and the fertile meadowland surrounding the plateau on which Santarém stands have been important factors in the settlement of the area since remote times. The Roman name for Santarém was Scalabis, and they were also responsible for its urban layout and for making it one of the most important cities in Lusitania.

One of the best ways of discovering Santarém is through its cultural and artistic heritage. You can also visit the city during the events that serve to highlight some of the region's best features. In June, there is the National Agricultural Fair, where agricultural produce and instruments are displayed and a cattle market is held. You also have the chance to see a bullfight if you're a fan of this particular sport.

October is the month when the National Gastronomy Festival is held, the main gastronomic fair in Portugal. These events are complemented by exhibitions of handicraft and folklore from all over the country. If possible, make sure to take the opportunity to watch the traditional dance of the Ribatejo region: the Fandango. This involves at least two men simulating a fight and symbolises the special skills of the cowherds who work in the nearby meadows.

Lisbon - 45 min
Fátima - 45 min
Nazare - 1h
Peniche - 1h
Obidos - 45 min

2000-345, Santarém, Portugal

2000-345, Portugal

Available

From Sunday 2017

To Monday 2017

firm dates

Other dates available

Host

3

Laura M.

Registered since 14/05/2016

Response rate:

Share it with your friends