Back
Listing closed for this period

Wokingham, England, United Kingdom | 2 dogs, 2 cats | House near the countryside, the forest | Pet-sitting | 79247

Host: Royston W.
Published January 22, 2020

General description

  • Main home
We are looking for kind, animal loving, responsible housesitters to look after our pets while we are away on holiday, to keep our house clean & to keep the garden (decked & paved) tidy. We have a 5 bedroom detached house in a cul de sac next to a forest/country park where the dogs have their walks twice a day. We have 2 very calm dogs (a 13yr old Labradoodle & 4yr old Samoyed mix) and 2 long haired cats (brothers). There is Sky TV in 2 rooms, fast WIFi, a piano and a hot tub in the garden. Our back garden gate opens into the forest /country park, which has a tarmac cycle /pedestrian pathway throughout & extends to the next village (approx a mile away), The country park has a fishing lake, camping, & coffee shop. Within a couple of hundred yards from the house there is a local centre with a library, coffee shop & sports hall. The area has local shops & amenities, and the market town of Wokingham is 3mls away, where there are trains to London, Reading, Guildford & Gatwick Airport. We are close to Reading, Sandhurst, Ascot and Windsor. House sitters must be non smokers and preferably have transport as the bus service is not very frequent. One double bedded bedroom with ensuite shower room is provided for the house sitters. No other bedrooms are to be used & no additional guests to stay.

Needs and Animals

  • My pets
  • 2 dogs
  • 2 cats
Both our dogs are walked in the country park twice a day using our back garden gate. There is a tarmac pathway the whole way through the park so your feet will not be muddy. The dogs are off the lead for most of their walk, but have to be on lead around the lake as there are swans and ducks. They are not allowed upstairs or on furniture or beds. The cats choose to sit indoors in winter and outdooors in the summer on cushions under a garden shelter, they are brothers aged 12 and they sleep a lot. They are not allowed on beds either. The dogs and cats sleep in the kitchen/diner together at night. They are very calm dogs and get on with the cats, but will chase other cats if they are not on a lead. Harvey is a 13 year old Labradoodle and Livvy is a 4 year old Samoyed / Chow Chow mix who we rescued from Romania through a charity when she was 5 months old. Livvy worships Harvey & hates it if he goes somewhere (like the vets) without her. They are fed twice a day morning and evening.

Practical life

  • Village
  • 150 - 500 m² (1590 - 5290 sq. ft.)
  • 20 - 200 m² (210 - 2110 sq. ft.)
  • Bus stop
  • Railway station
  • Airport
  • Market
  • Small shop / Minimarket
  • Supermarket
  • Shopping mall
  • Doctor
  • Pharmacy
  • Hospital
  • Veterinarian
  • Internet
  • Television
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Deep freeze
  • Enclosed garden
  • Ground floor
  • No disabled access
Although we live next to a country park & forest we are part of a housing development. The area is semi rural with farmland, but there are many houses and at the crossroads we have a couple of supermarkets, a post office, dentist, doctor's surgery, vet, garage, fish & chip shop & 2 restaurants. There are lots of forest walks, country pubs/restaurants, golf clubs etc in the area and 100 meters from our back garden gate there is a centre with a library, coffee shop and sport's hall. We are only 3 miles from Wokingham, a Market town, with many pubs, restaurants, banks, shops, ten pin bowling, hairdressers, main library, 4 major supermarkets etc and a railway station to London, Reading, Guildford & Gatwick Airport. We have an excellent choice of cinemas in the area and have theatres. We are close to Ascot, famous for racing and Windsor, where the queen spends week-ends. Both the royal princes went to prep school in Wokingham. Sandhurst, the British Military Academy is also close by. The bus service is just once an hour going either to Wokingham or Reading so a car is preferable for full enjoyment. My daughter lives about 4 miles away and can be relied on in an emergency.

Comfort and Luxury

  • 2 floors
  • 9 rooms of which 5 bedrooms
  • Contemporary
  • Car parking available
  • Landscaped garden
  • Television / DVD library
  • Book library
  • Art and music
  • Fitted kitchen
  • Sauna / Jacuzzi
We have lots of books in the house and also a piano, video player, DVD player, Sky tv with full sports channels, music channels etc. In the garden we have a hot tub. The back garden is fully decked and paved with raised flower beds, hot & cold taps for washing the dogs if they get muddy. As we live next to a forest we would like to have the leaves and debris in this area swept regularly and similarly our front paved garden. We live in a cul de sac of 3 houses. We each have a driveway and extra area for reversing and a guest parking space. We normally fit 3 cars on our driveway. We have 2 tumble dryers in the garage, a washing machine, dishwasher, American fridge freezer etc in the kitchen/diner where there is a large wall mounted tv with Sky channels as we spend most of our time there with the dogs.

Tourism and Leisure

  • Countryside
  • Forest
  • Museum
  • Theme park
  • Cinema
  • Theater / Opera
.

Wokingham, England, United Kingdom

Wokingham, UK

Available

From Monday 2020

To Friday 2020

firm dates

Our dates are firm. We want you to arrive in the afternoon of 25 May 2020 to take you out on a walk and show you where everything is. I have type written instructions for house sitters. We fly out the next day in the afternoon.

Host

3

Royston W.

Registered since 18/10/2019

Response rate:

Share it with your friends