Back

Pera, Nicosia, Cyprus

Host: Sara Z.
Published June 29, 2021

General description

  • Main home
We live in a countryside house in a traditional stone village in Cyprus. It is a 2 floor house, with open plan kitchen & living room downstairs and 2 rooms & bathroom upstairs. We have a garden with a sitting area under a canopy and a space where we grow organic vegetables (in the summer we have tomatoes, courgettes, aubergines and aromatic herbs) that you are welcome to collect during your stay.

Needs and Animals

  • My pets
  • 3 dogs
  • 12 cats
We have 3 dogs (Caesar, Cleo and Minu) who will need walking preferably 2 times per day (20-30mins each) and feeding 2 times per day. Caesar is 13-year old pointer cross, Cleo is 10 year old Samoyed cross and Minu is 7 year old jack russel cross. We would prefer that the pet sitters are a couple (or 2 friends) so that it will be easier to take 3 dogs for a walk.
We have 12 cats - all neutered- (do not worry most of them are outdoor !! ) that will need feeding 2 times per day and changing of the cat litter once per day. 4 of the cats sleep indoor.

Our garden has an automatic watering system. All you have to do is keep an eye that everything is working fine.

Practical life

  • Village
  • 50 - 150 m² (530 - 1590 sq. ft.)
  • 20 - 200 m² (210 - 2110 sq. ft.)
  • Bus stop
  • Small shop / Minimarket
  • Supermarket
  • Pharmacy
  • Veterinarian
  • Internet
  • Television
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Enclosed garden
  • No elevator
  • 2e floor
  • No disabled access
We live in a rustic house with garden in a traditional picturesque village in the countryside of Cyprus, 30 minute drive from the capital Nicosia. We are also 30 mins drive from the nearby Machairas mountains where there are several pic nic sites and possibilities for trekking. Seaside destinations can also be reached within one hour drive.
We enjoy spending time in our garden growing organic vegetables or resting under the canopy with climbing honeysuckle.
There are some walking paths in the valley walking distance from the village where we enjoy taking our dogs for a walk. There is also a pic-nic site under eucalyptus trees.
The village has one tavern, one take away shop, 2 minimarkets and one traditional coffee shop kafeneio. There is a supermarket, pharmacies, banks and other shops in the next village 10 mins drive. Our vet is 15 mins drive.

Comfort and Luxury

  • One floor
  • One room of which one bedroom
  • Traditional
  • Landscaped garden
  • Television / DVD library
  • Book library
  • Air conditioning
  • Fitted kitchen
We have a mountain bike that you could use during your stay.
We have a TV, many DVDs, wifi and Netflix. We have a library with many reading books in english, greek, italian.
We can provide you with maps and info of the area.

Tourism and Leisure

  • Mountain
  • Countryside
Our village is located in the center of the island of Cyprus so it is a great base to explore many parts of the island. But if you do not want to go far, there are pleasant walks starting from the village leading to the Tamassos dam, passing from interesting sedimentary rock formation. There is an ancient monastery 20 mins walk and a small archeological site nearby. 10 mins drive will lead you to a surreal volcanic canyon and an organic farm. If you are keen hikers like us, you will enjoy trekking in the Machairas mountains -30 mins drive. We can provide you with maps of the area and local attractions.
There are some Unesco churches with amazingly preserved wall paintings from the XII century 40 mins drive.
Our area is also dotted with many picturesque stone-built villages (including our own).
The capital Nicosia is 30 mins drive (or 50 mins bus ride). You can wonder around the narrow streets of the old town withing the venetian walls. Nicosia is divided in 2 sides , the greek and the turkish sides. It is possible to cross the border by foot an it is interesting to discover the life of the 2 communities.

Pera, Nicosia, Cyprus

Pera, Cyprus

Available

From Wednesday 2021

To Saturday 2021

flexible dates

We will be leaving on the 26th August but we would prefer for the house sitter/s to be here at least one day in advance so that we could explain everything to them about our house and our pets. If they need to leave earlier than the 11th September that can be easily arranged with our neighbors or parents in law.

Host

6

Sara Z.

Subscriber

Registered since 29/06/2021

Response rate:

Share it with your friends

Contact owner

Only members of Nomador Community can contact owners.
Registering is free of charges and allows you to create a Trust Profile before starting a discussion.

I register Discover our Options
Already have a Nomador account?

Request a new password on the \"Forgot password\" page.

Forgot password